Print Friendly, PDF & Email

August 2, 2024

Old Stones, New Tricks: Edison Park Receives Historic New Name

The small park at the corner of Edison Avenue and Henderson Highway now has a new name. Once called Edison Park, its new name honours the historical significance of its location and contents: Matheson Millstones Park.

Scottish settler Alexander Matheson came to the Red River Colony in 1823, and established the Matheson Grist Mill shortly thereafter. Located at what is now 1025 Henderson Highway, Matheson’s was the only mill on the east side of the river, and one of the first mills in the Canadian Northwest to harness energy from flowing water. The mill was powered by McLeod’s Creek (also known as Water Mill Creek), which was slowly filled in due to land development.

The Matheson Grist Mill, like most mills of the era, consisted of two large circular stones sitting side by side with one slightly higher and overlapping the other. Used to grind seed kernels into flour, mills were necessary tools for survival and development in the Red River Settlement. Matheson’s family continued to operate their mill until around 1870.

After their dismantling, the stones from the mill circulated in the neighbourhood with their history unbeknownst to those who used them for flood prevention and patio tables. By 1965, the stones had been tracked down and the North Kildonan Parks Board decided to give them a permanent home.

In 1966, the Matheson Millstones moved into their current home at 1257 Henderson Highway, accompanied by a commemorative plaque. The park remained nameless until receiving its “Edison Park” title in 2014. While upgrading the park in 2019, the City commissioned artist Ursula Neufeld to create a mosaic piece surrounding the millstones that paid homage to the neighbourhood’s history.

In 2020, President of the North East Winnipeg Historical Society, and Heritage Winnipeg Board Member Jim Smith applied to have the park renamed. The application was approved by the East Kildonan-Transcona Community Committee, but the process was delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

In March of 2024, the majority of the Winnipeg City Council voted to approve the renaming of the park. As of July, 2024, the park has received a lovely new sign sporting its brand new name: Matheson Millstones Park. A small ceremony will be held on August 15th, 2024 at noon at the park (1257 Henderson Highway) to commemorate the parks renaming, with refreshments at Donwood South (1245 Henderson Highway) immediately to follow.

Congratulations to the North East Winnipeg Historical Society for successfully changing the park’s name to reflect its area history. An effort that is sure to bring more attention to the importance of the millstones!

Click here to read more about the history of Matheson Millstones Park.

Click here to read our 2022 blog post about the history of North East Winnipeg.

Click here to learn more about the North East Winnipeg Historical Society

logo

 / Recent News

August 21, 2026

Winnipeg Railway Museum Continues Work Toward Reopening

The Winnipeg Railway Museum at VIA Rail’s Union Station, 123 Main Street, continues to work toward reopening its doors to the public, with discussions currently underway with Parks Canada regarding the next steps for the historic museum. The museum has been closed since December 2021 due to safety concerns and required upgrades to the building….

August 18, 2026

Early Birds Save 20% On Heritage Winnipeg’s 2026 Fall Fundraiser Tickets!

Early Bird Special tickets for Heritage Winnipeg’s 2026 Fall Fundraiser are now on sale! Get yours today and join us on Thursday, October 1st, 2026 for an amazing evening in the former Glasgow House at 34 Middle Gate. A deserving winner at Heritage Winnipeg’s 2025 Annual Preservation Awards, this beautifully restored 1911 home has become…

August 7, 2026

Newfound Hope for Marlborough Hotel Redevelopment

Since opening in 1914, the Marlborough Hotel, located at 331 Smith Street, has seen generations of Winnipeggers and visitors pass through its doors for celebrations, conferences, dinners, and overnight stays. It has witnessed the growth of the city, played a role in Canada’s military history, and become an irreplaceable part of Winnipeg’s architectural landscape. However,…

August 6, 2026

City Gives Final Approval to Granite Way Housing Development

The City of Winnipeg has granted final approval for the proposed 12-storey, 110-unit housing development at 30 Granite Way, despite ongoing concerns raised throughout the approval process. At its July 30th meeting, the City’s Property and Development Committee unanimously dismissed appeals related to the development. The project is being led by the University of Winnipeg…

August 5, 2026

Special Discount for Heritage Winnipeg Members this August!

For the month of August, all Heritage Winnipeg members will receive 20% off autographed copies of Winnipeg: Stories Our Buildings Tell, Volume 2! Shipping will be an additional charge. Do not miss your chance to pick up your copy!

August 4, 2026

Heritage Winnipeg Membership Drive

Become a Heritage Winnipeg member today! As a member you will receive our exclusive member newsletter, updates on events, the official blog sent directly to your inbox, and special discounts! The greatest benefit of becoming a Heritage Winnipeg member is knowing that your support helps preserve and celebrate our city’s built heritage. PURCHASE OR RENEW…